Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello to all. First off, I am a Linux newbie. I have worked with windows since the dos days.I have 4 PC's in my bedroom and wanting to learn to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Samba Server in Windows Environment

Hello to all.

First off, I am a Linux newbie. I have worked with windows since the dos days.I have 4 PC's in my bedroom and wanting to learn to program in PHP/MySQL. That said, here are the 4 PC's I have hooked up on my 4 port KVM:

Desktop, Mandriva 10.1, Pentium Celeron 433MHz, 80GB HDD, 512MB SDRAM
    Desktop, XP Pro, Athlon 2400+, 120GB HDD, 512 DDR-RAM
    Desktop, 98SE&2k Pro, P3 1GHz, 80GB HDD, 512MB DDR-RAM
    Laptop, Mandrake 10.1, Pentium 3 700MHz, 12GB HDD, 256MB SDRAM

I will be working primariliy on the windows pc's. The linux desktop will be serving Apache, PHP, MySQL, and act as a Samba Server as well. I want to be able to share a directory from the Linux Desktop so that I can access them from the other PC's. But I also do not want anyone else to view nor modify my files. So I guess that user authentication is involved. I have muddled around on the Mandrake desktop and was able to share a folder. But I can only view from my XP machine if the linux settings allow ALL users to view and modify. If I set it to owner access only (view/modify), I cannot open in XP, 98, or 2000. I must be missing something. Also, I cannot load SWAT on the Mandrake PC as well. When I type in http://localhost:901, I get a "connection refused when try to connect to localhost 901" error.

Help, please.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Tony

Just Joined!
    For this post, replace anything between the <> with desired values. Don't type your desired values with <> around them.