Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I'm newbie working on DNS and I'm trying to configure a Caching only Server...but I get the next responses when I execute for the next commands: # dig -x 127.0.0.1 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5

    Caching only DNS problem


    I'm newbie working on DNS and I'm trying to configure a Caching only Server...but I get the next responses when I execute for the next commands:

    # dig -x 127.0.0.1

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> -x 127.0.0.1
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 19070
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;1.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. IN PTR

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    1.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. 86400 IN PTR localhost.

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. 86400 IN NS localhost.

    ;; Query time: 13 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 13 12:17:03 2005
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 77


    # dig cs.mty.itesm.mx

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> cs.mty.itesm.mx
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


    Also I got:


    # dig +norec cs.mty.itesm.mx

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> +norec cs.mty.itesm.mx
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23211
    ;; flags: qr ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 13, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;cs.mty.itesm.mx. IN A

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    . 3600000 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
    . 3600000 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.

    ;; Query time: 25 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 13 12:15:21 2005
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 244


    Help me please

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    So let me see if I got this right. cs.mty.itesm.mx is not a domain hosted on the dns server at IP 127.0.0.1. You are just trying to resolve somebody else's domain, and are wondering why it won't?

    Let's see if you can query the dns server directly:

    dig @132.254.232.1 cs.mty.itesm.mx

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Exactly ..I want to resolve a domain that is NOT hosted on my DNS server...

    I got the next response for the command requested:

    # dig @132.254.232.1 cs.mty.itesm.mx

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> @132.254.232.1 cs.mty.itesm.mx
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27239
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 4

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;cs.mty.itesm.mx. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    cs.mty.itesm.mx. 1800 IN A 131.178.5.34

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    mty.itesm.mx. 1800 IN NS dns3.itesm.mx.
    mty.itesm.mx. 1800 IN NS dns4.itesm.mx.
    mty.itesm.mx. 1800 IN NS dns1.itesm.mx.
    mty.itesm.mx. 1800 IN NS dns2.itesm.mx.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    dns1.itesm.mx. 1800 IN A 131.178.1.15
    dns2.itesm.mx. 1800 IN A 132.254.89.5
    dns3.itesm.mx. 1800 IN A 132.254.232.1
    dns4.itesm.mx. 1800 IN A 132.254.1.11

    ;; Query time: 67 msec
    ;; SERVER: 132.254.232.1#53(132.254.232.1)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 13 15:55:17 2005
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 189



    I don't know if it could be possible a trouble with my network configuration

    Let me give you more information about my server

    ifconfig

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:09:6B:B2:BF:2C
    inet addr:10.17.113.125 Bcast:10.17.113.255 Mask:255.255.254.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:30376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5405 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:2132632 (2.0 Mb) TX bytes:664709 (649.1 Kb)
    Interrupt:20 Base address:0x2000 Memory:f2000000-f2000038

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:139487 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:139487 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:9519560 (9.0 Mb) TX bytes:9519560 (9.0 Mb)

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    Do you have any forwarders setup in named.conf?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Tks!!!...

    The forwardes were missing...I configured as forwarders the IP addresses of DNS Campus servers and now is working my caching only server...

    thanks man...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •