Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to linux - read lots of books though. I was trying to set up a box for my home network that would be a fileserver (samba) and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Reccomendations?

I am new to linux - read lots of books though.

I was trying to set up a box for my home network that would be a fileserver (samba) and web server (apache with the php modules and mysql modules) and the mysql server. I would also like to play around with configuring BIND DNS server as well as Sendmail and a POP3 server. Ideally it would be a box with no monitor, and I would access it via PuTTY SSH as well as Cygwin, sharing the root system with samba to ONLY my XP machine on the lan so that I could quickly edit config files (suggestions of text-editors for windows that save text output CORRECTLY for unix?). I want to be able to access the MySQL server from my windows box using mysqlcc and navicat.

My Windows box is a P4 3.0ghz machine, w/512mb 400mhz ram.

My (hopefully soon) linux box is an AMD K6/2 333 mhz w/256mb pc100 ram and a 10gig ata/33. (I know it's a piece, but hey, linux should be able to run with it.)

Initially I was going to run FreeBSD, but I have been experimenting with different distros. FreeBSD gave me a few problems, and I am not sure if I can use regular RPMS with it or not. I tried Mandrake 10.1 and it bombed. I got RedHat 9 running with the distro from LinuxISO.org, but after running the up2date I had problems, which I eventually resolved... UNTIL I tried to remove the old MySQL and install the new rpm. I probably should not have let the Anaconda installer add it in from the beginning. But anyways, after I did a forced rpm -replacefiles and screwed everything up good.