Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just imported user accounts for from a list using a script. However the names on the script we just learned were created wrong by the programmer. We are talking ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Delete users

I just imported user accounts for from a list using a script. However the names on the script we just learned were created wrong by the programmer. We are talking 800+ accounts. What is the best way to delete them? All of the UIDs are in order, if I delete the users from the /etc/passwd file, and then delete the home directories will this be sufficent. I am trying to avoid using userdel -r username for each account.

Server is Slackware 10.1 running sendmail

Linux Newbie
    you could just write a bash script which contains a loop and uses the userdel program. you could execute it and walk away. i found this online and just modified it slightly. i'm not a good programer but something similar should work. please read the code first, as the numbers used are just approximations.

Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    user=1000
    stop=1800
    while [ "$start" -lt "$stop" ]
    do
      echo "deleting user $user"
      deluser '$user'
      user=$(($user+1))
    done
    exit 0

Just Joined!
    Thank you, It should work because they are in order.
    I need to improve my script skills!

scm
    Linux Engineer
    Is deluser a special prog? It's not on FC. AFAIK you'd have to use userdel, which takes a username, not an ID.
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash 
    start=1000 
    stop=1800 
    while [ "$start" -lt "$stop" ] 
    do 
      user=$(sed -n "s/\([^:][^:]*\):$start:.*/\1/p" /etc/passwd
      echo "deleting user $user" 
      userdel -r "$user"
      start=$(($start+1)) 
    done 
    exit 0
    I'd advise changing the "userdel" line into an echo so it just reports the command it'd run, the first time, just in case ...

Just Joined!