Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a newbie when it comes to Linux. I am however a network engineer by trade so im not the total newbie to computers or networks. I currently have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Servers

I am a newbie when it comes to Linux. I am however a network engineer by trade so im not the total newbie to computers or networks. I currently have a few servers, exchange, AD DC, WEB, FILE, and an App server running. They are all running on Windows 2k or 2003. I am sooooo done with Microsoft. I want to move all of there to Linux platforms. I got a few books and have been doing some reading but I have a few questions that maybe you guys can help me with.

1. Is there a difference between the "Server" Linux OS and the Client OS? Can I run Suse 9.2 on all of these boxes and get good results?

2. Is there an "Exchange" type program for Linux, and if so my main requirement is that it has shared calendars. If not is there any Linux software that will hook into exchange and allow me to share a calendar with other exchange users?

3. What is the best web server? Apache? Also being new to Linux as well as Apache, where can I find some really easy step by step stuff to set it up. I kind of just want to be able to copy my web sites (about 5) from the IIS box to the Apache box and be done with it. Is that possible or am I shooting to high

4. Can I have a Linux box act as a Domain controller, or do I need to at all if I have no Windows boxes left on my network? Is there a Linux equivalent to the Windows Active directory?

5. I want to set up FTP/File sharing. What’s my best bet? Again I have about 1.2 TB of stuff, so I kind of just want to be able to get the data off the old machine to the new FTP server and be done with it. Currently the data is on a Spanned windows drive, covering about 4 HD's. I also have it backed up to another drive.