Find the answer to your Linux question:
Suse Linux 9.3 Professional and IMAP server problem Hi, I am new to Suse linux. Mostly use Redhat. I am trying to setup a mail server on Suse Linux 9.3 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Suse Linux 9.3 Professional and IMAP server problem

Hi,

I am new to Suse linux. Mostly use Redhat. I am trying to setup a mail server on Suse Linux 9.3 Professional on Intel. Everything is perfect, i am using sendmail for handling mail and it works perfectly. The only problem is IMAP/POP3 access. I am unable to login to imap/pop3 via outlook from a xp machine. I tried from multiple machines, it ask for password and then reject login. Do you guys know if there is anything i need to set in configuration to enable imap login for users. I can read and write mail if i use pine on server itself. But it gives problem with remote logins with imap/pop. i tried both secure and normal imap/ipop3d and both ways give problem. I don't really need secure imap/pop3 since i will use a webmail application on same server which need imap server to work. Please note that i tried Qpopper service for pop3 on same server and through that i can login to pop3 and download all emails fine. But i need imap and the ipop3d/imap with the imapd package is not working. I am sure imap/ipop3d server is running but for some reason its not letting me in from outlook from windows client. I even tried connecting from evolution mail client on same suse machine and it does not work either. I know its something simple but unable to find help online.

Noaman

Just Joined!
    Did you try logging in as user@domain.tld instead of just plain user?

Just Joined!

Hi,

I just triend user name with domain they way you mentioned but it does not matter. It still give me same error.

Noaman

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!