Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to linux and this is my first time trying anything with it... I am planning on setting up a DHCP Server/Firewall out of an older system... it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

DHCP Server/Firewall

I am new to linux and this is my first time trying anything with it...

I am planning on setting up a DHCP Server/Firewall out of an older system... it's a AMD K6-2 550MHz w/ 160MB RAM. I have SUSE 9.1 Enterprise Server and am wondering if that would be ok to use for this setup and how hard it is to configure. Would there be a better distro to use instead?

I know how to set this up on windows 2k server and 2k3 server, but as I stated earlier, I am new to linux... any help would be appreciated... thanks.

Linux Newbie
    I dont think that you will be able to run it. I have version 9.0 of that edition and it requires that you have 256 meg of ram for the install.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

Just Joined!
    If i upgrade it to 256MB RAM will it work ok... is there another alternative distro i should use? If so... what could I use SUSE Enterprise server for?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    Yes there is; you can use slackware - or for example Minislack. Minislack has a graphical boot with 60 MB RAM in use, rarely consuming more than 128 MB in graphical mode - and you can always add a swap file. I think Minislack suits your needs. It's a 1.1 GB install (400 MB iso - slackware is at least two 700 MB iso's). Of course, you can still strip a lot of software.