Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
First, I am very new to Linux but I am learning quickly. I am currently becoming familiar with Fedora Core 4. We currently use Win 2k and 2k3 servers for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

General Linux server questions

First, I am very new to Linux but I am learning quickly. I am currently becoming familiar with Fedora Core 4. We currently use Win 2k and 2k3 servers for everything (networking, public hosting, etc).

I would like to set up a Linux test server and make it public. Eventually I know we will purchase Red Hat Enterprise, but before we know much about Linux, I would like to test with a free version. What is recommended for high end operations like clustering, high-availability, VPN hosting, etc.? I was thinking Red Hat FC or Red Hat 9.

Also, how can I find Linux equivalents to the Win2k3 server roles (VPN, FTP server, Terminal Services, etc.)?

Finally, is it possible to set up a network similar to Windows? A domain with users and domain controllers. Is it also possible to set up a network where computers can log directly onto a Terminal Server like a Novell or Citrix network?

Thanks for all the help,
    James

I'm not over familiar with all of these parts across both platforms.. so - Most distros can be configured for what you want, but Red Hat ,Debian or SuSE will be the best options. (Debian will be a bit more manual, bit more purist). FTP is out of the box mostly, Terminal Services is there but may work a litlle differently. You can certainly have linux clients running SSH with the X server running on the clients. I won't swear on this though as TS is a lot more native to Unix systems than Windows. Remember MS bought Citrix technology to make it work.....