Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
hello, I was trying to install Squid on my PC, and I followed the tutorial at: http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/Users-Guide/ I downloaded "squid-2.5.STABLE6.tar.gz". Following the tutorial, I created the directories " /usr/local/squid/src" and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    167

    Cant find Cache Directory - Squid Install


    hello,

    I was trying to install Squid on my PC, and I followed the tutorial at: http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/Users-Guide/

    I downloaded "squid-2.5.STABLE6.tar.gz". Following the tutorial, I created the directories " /usr/local/squid/src" and downloaded the file there. I untarred it, and a directory "squid-2.5.STABLE6" was created with many files inside.

    I cd'd into the DIR and using the commands "./configure", "make", "make install" the app was installed.

    I observed that other DIRs "bin, etc, libexec, man, sbin, share, src and var" had been created at "/usr/local/squid" together with the "src" i created before.

    finally getting to this page of the tutoria "http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/Users-Guide/initial/dirs.html", it says

    Squid normally creates a few directories. They are normally as follows:

    /usr/local/squid
    /bin
    /cache
    /etc
    /logs/
    /src (we created this earlier)
    my problem is that there was no "cache" directory created....is it that it was created somewhere else? pls how do I find out....

    another thing is that the "logs" directory is created under a "var" directory.

    pls, are these observations an error during the installation....I wasnt prompted for any errors though....how do I locate the "cache" DIR if it was automatically placed somewhere else?

    thanks
    Toks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,885
    There is a squid command to initialise the cache, setting the amound of disk space it allocates, and where it puts it. Unfortunately, I dont run squid on its own any more, I use the version that comes with Smoothwall (configured by web interface), and I cant remember how I did it all those years ago.

    Take a look through the squid man pages; it should be pretty easy to find.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    167
    hello,

    Pls can someone help with configuring my squid.......

    Is there a GUI utility that can be used with RH9 for configuring squid...

    Pls can u help with a very simple squid.conf file.......very simple


    thanks
    Toks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Tokunbo
    hello,

    Pls can someone help with configuring my squid.......

    Is there a GUI utility that can be used with RH9 for configuring squid...

    Pls can u help with a very simple squid.conf file.......very simple


    thanks
    Toks
    Here's the (modified) one from my smoothwall box:

    Code:
    visible_hostname <put your hostname here>
    http_port 192.168.X.X&#58;8080 # use your ip address
    acl localnet src 192.168.X.0/255.255.255.0
    cache_mem 8 MB
    maximum_object_size_in_memory 32 KB
    cache_replacement_policy heap GDSF
    memory_replacement_policy heap GDSF
    half_closed_clients off
    cache_swap_high 100%
    cache_swap_low 80%
    shutdown_lifetime 3 seconds
    icp_port 0
    acl QUERY urlpath_regex cgi-bin \?
    no_cache deny QUERY
    cache_effective_user squid
    cache_effective_group squid
    pid_filename /var/run/squid.pid
    cache_access_log /var/log/squid/access.log
    cache_log /var/log/squid/cache.log
    cache_store_log none
    error_directory /usr/local/squid/etc/smootherrors
    emulate_httpd_log on
    log_mime_hdrs off
    forwarded_for off
    acl all src 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    acl localhost src 127.0.0.1/255.255.255.255
    acl SSL_ports port 445 443 441 563
    acl Safe_ports port 80                  # http
    acl Safe_ports port 81                  # smoothwall http
    acl Safe_ports port 21                  # ftp
    acl Safe_ports port 445 443 441 563     # https, snews
    acl Safe_ports port 70                  # gopher
    acl Safe_ports port 210                 # wais
    acl Safe_ports port 1025-65535          # unregistered ports
    acl Safe_ports port 280                 # http-mgmt
    acl Safe_ports port 488                 # gss-http
    acl Safe_ports port 591                 # filemaker
    acl Safe_ports port 777                 # multiling http
    acl CONNECT method CONNECT
    
    http_access allow localhost
    http_access deny !Safe_ports
    http_access deny CONNECT !SSL_ports
    http_access allow localnet
    http_access deny all
    
    maximum_object_size 8192 KB
    minimum_object_size 0 KB
    
    # set the cache_dir to whatever you use
    cache_dir diskd /var/squid/cache 2000 16 256
    
    request_body_max_size 0 KB
    reply_body_max_size 0 allow all
    I hope that helps.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    The squid cache directory needs to be created for the first run (isnt by default for whatever reason

    Code:
     squid -z
    should do the trick, then try starting it up as before.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •