Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi all. I'm having a problem with my page. It will work for a second then not at all, this is from computers on the lan. from the server it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    13

    what's up with my apache????


    Hi all. I'm having a problem with my page. It will work for a second then not at all, this is from computers on the lan. from the server it works just fine.

    what gives. i've not put any customized settings. all default.
    i can ping actual.domain.com from the lan and it works, just not the page. i'm using mandrake 9.1 and apache 2.0.44

    on the log file there's an [error] [client "some ip"] file does not exist:......

    "some ip" varies from something similar to my actual ip to not.
    i get the same [error] when i try to access somthing that really isn't on the server. i.e. manual-1.3 from the server itself?????

    any ideas??

    Thanks, hope it some what makes sence

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Do you have any valid webpages in your /var/www/html directory?? Do they have correct filepermissions??
    Regards

    Andutt

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Do you have a firewall running? Check with "iptables -L -n".

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    13

    Code Red???

    the page works fine from within the server. the default apache page is there, and i assume the permissions are correct(default also)

    there is a firewall on my router and on the server(software)
    but port 80 isn't blocked. it works only right after the server boots.

    also i've come to find out that i might have the code red worm
    i know this through the access apache log file.

    will that affect my server since it supposedly uses iis (microsoft)?
    would this be the cause of the problem?
    if so anny suggestions as to what to do??.

    thanks

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Can you reach the webserver from some other computer inside your LAN?? or is it form the internet you can reach it?? If so you must create a role in your AP for that...

    If you reach your webserver localy it should be no problem with the webserver then it must be some problem connecting to your linux box from other computers...
    Regards

    Andutt

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    LOL! The code red worm certainly won't affect apache. It's targeted specifically at IIS. I get up to a hundred code red requests on my server every day.

    Instead, check with a network monitor (like tcpdump or ethereal) what happens when someone tries to connect to the server.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    13
    The server works fine from lan AND internet (just tested it). the only problem i see is after some time of inactivity, it won't respond any longer. neither from lan nor internet...

    i'm not fammiliar with the term AP, but from what your saing i think it probably doesn't apply?

    cool code red is not an option
    i just installed ethereal, and i'll check tcpdump to see if i can figure out somthing.

    this all seems to be related to inactivity from the server, coud that be???

    thanks

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    13
    Also it works fine within the sever, that is the page loads up fine. using "domain.name.com"

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    13
    I'm runnig ADX from mandrake, it's the same apache right??

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    I dont know what ADX is, normaly the included http-server in linux is called httpd..
    Regards

    Andutt

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •