Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm a Linux newbie and have been thinking about the following: since I'm on the road all the time and would like to start sending mail with my own ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best SMTP relay solution

Hi,

I'm a Linux newbie and have been thinking about the following:

since I'm on the road all the time and would like to start sending mail with my own personal sender/receiver tags I have spent some time looking at free SMTP servers.
    There are many out there, but most do not allow using a different sender address.
    I.e., I would like to send mail while at airport X wireless with Thunderbird and specify various sender addresses. This to handle various E-mails for different purposes.
    Is there such a thing as a computer-based solution for this?

What are your experiences with the various providers?
    Which are most flexible and secure?
    If I use my own server, am I like various threads suggest here setting myself up for problems?

Your help is much appreciated!

Marinus.

The problem with relaying is that you can provide a gateway through which certain elements of the internet can forward spam anonymously.

If I understand what you want to do, then it seems that you just want to send email from wherever you are with a different return address, hence allowing you to use your 'home' address for your friends or one of several 'business' addresses, depending on the company you may be consulting for this week.

Are you sure you dont just need to change the return address on your emails and your signature? Most modern email programs let you select a user profile when sending, which allow you to change these things easily.

Just Joined!
    Hi Roxoff,

yes that is what I'm after.
    When I change the sender address in Thunderbird, GMail nor hotpop allow me to send mail.