Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
uhhh guys i bought SuSe 7.2 a while back and i was rummaging one of these days and i saw that the operating system can hold 64 Gigs OF RAM! ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ../
    Posts
    62

    64 gigs of ram


    uhhh guys i bought SuSe 7.2 a while back and i was rummaging one of these days and i saw that the operating system can hold 64 Gigs OF RAM! now im pretty sure thats for server purposes or clustering only but say i had a server taht just happened to have the capability of holding that much ram, what could i do with it? anyways jut thought it was funny to thnk what would happen to windows 95 if you loaded it wtiht that much ram hahaha probibly mess it up and get an error "your computer is not slow enough, take some ram out"

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Heavy duty Database Servers typically have 2GB+ RAM, and depending on the application and load of the machine, maybe more.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Where do you come from? I've been running 64 GB of RAM for ages!!!



    btw...welcome to the board, xlulux!
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ../
    Posts
    62
    AMD Athlon 2000+
    512MB PC2700
    Single-boot: Gentoo

    G3 366
    320MB SO-DIMM
    Single-boot: OSX 10.2.6




    tehehehe nice try dude , i have 160 mb so i shouldnt talk[/u]

  5. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    If you're going to quote my sig., just copy/paste, don't edit it!!!

    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    He's just not listing his super computer-linux-super-cluster on his sig... the stats would likely crash the server... but man I tell you.. thats one monster of a machine!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ../
    Posts
    62

    so you have seen this monster?

    wow i would prolly pass out to see that much ram in a room. i want a hard drive made all out of ram , i heard back somewhere that it was possible, but wouldnt everything get cleared out since its ram and not rom

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219

    Re: so you have seen this monster?

    Quote Originally Posted by xlulux
    wow i would prolly pass out to see that much ram in a room. i want a hard drive made all out of ram , i heard back somewhere that it was possible, but wouldnt everything get cleared out since its ram and not rom
    Not if you wrote it to a disk every 5 mins. I beleve thats what shared memory databases do.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    But it would be fun to have harddisks as fast as ram 1 gig transfer pr. second if I rember things correctly

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    We run unix machines with hundred user systems and in production the machine has 6 gig ram.
    ibm machines, so risc ppc chip.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •