Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am new to Linux and I have recently set up a webserver with apache and FC 3. The webserver works great on my local LAN, but people on the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Can access webserver on local LAN, but not the Internet

I am new to Linux and I have recently set up a webserver with apache and FC 3. The webserver works great on my local LAN, but people on the internet can't access it. I have made shure that apache is running on port 80 and that my firewall unblocked port 80. I have also set the file permissions to apache/apache on the //var/www/html file. I have registered with DynDNS with the tool on my router (ZyXel p330) and it works great. I have ADSL and my linux computer is connected to the internet through a router w/ a firewall and an xDSL modem with a firewall. I need help making the webserver avalable online.

Just Joined!
    do you have rerouted the port from your router to your computer?

router (wan) : xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    router (lan) : 192.168.0.1
    computer : 192.168.0.100

dyndns : xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80

your router has to route the request from dyndns to your pc
    (port forwarding)

Also check that your ISP isn't blocking any ports - they do that sometimes because they are tightwads when it comes to their bandwidth.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Same problem here

I am having the exact same problem.

1. I have a dyndns account and the IP there is correct. I pinged the domain name just to make sure it was linked to my current IP address.

2. I have a linksys router that is forwarding ports 80 (http) and 22 (ssh) to
    192.168.1.20 (my server). The router is also forwarding port 5900 (VNC) to another machine (192.168.1.102) on the local network and that forwarding works fine.