Find the answer to your Linux question:
noob here, lurking only so far, but haven't been able to figure this one out.. runnign apache 2.0 on fc4, cgi-bin works fine, SSI works fine, however the cgi script ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

apache question - cgi script writing into a file?

noob here, lurking only so far, but haven't been able to figure this one out..

runnign apache 2.0 on fc4, cgi-bin works fine, SSI works fine, however the cgi script i'm trying to make work will not..

its a counter program, counter.cgi (from matt's script archive). i'm able to call it via SSI, however the error I get is..

[TextCounter Fatal Error: Could Not Write to File _index_shtml]
    there's nothign in the log files. the paths are as following:

the cgi path to the data dir where the counter file is stored: $data_dir = "/var/www/cgi-bin/textcounter/data/"; - i tried everything, from chmod 777 to different path names - www/cgi-bin/textcounter/data/, /www/cgi-bin/textcounter/data, cgi-bin/textcounter/data, /cgi-bin/textcounter/, etc. tried every combination, no go.

the counter.cgi file is in /var/www/cgi-bin/textcounter/counter.cgi (also tried putting it in /var/www/cgi-bin/counter.cgi, also no luck)

I've been reading the apache documentation but don't see anything regarding a cgi program writing to a file, so i'm mot sure if i'm missing something. Looked over httpd.conf several times, and don't see anything that's relevant..

if more information (sections of the httpd.conf) are needed i would be glad to post those up.

any help is appreciated. spent 3 days tinkering/reading on this (linux noob here) but no luck, so i resort to posting.. nothing relevant in search/google came up either..

thank you!

Just Joined!
    have you checked ownership?

(Hint: ls -l )

Just Joined!