Find the answer to your Linux question:
All, I am relatively new to the Linux world. I have recently inherited a couple of Linux servers at my job. The server in question is running Red Hat 7.3 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Windows XP problems with Samba 2.2.4

All,
    I am relatively new to the Linux world. I have recently inherited a couple of Linux servers at my job. The server in question is running Red Hat 7.3 with Samba 2.2.4. It is having trouble sharing with Windows XP. I ggogled it and the only thing that came up was a plain password problem in XP. I changed the registry to allow the plain text passwords but the XP boxes are still haing issues... Any ideas. (I want to upgrade the RH7.2 and Samba when I get more comfortable with Linux, but I do need to figure something out for now...)

Linux Newbie
    Upgrade to Samba 3.0.xx, you´re using a version of somewhere 2002. Goto

http://www.samba.org

If you´re using Debian or debian like distro use:

apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade

or apt-get install samba
    Computers Are Like Air Conditioners... They\'re both useless with Windows open!

As you're running RedHat 7.3 you're going to find any kind of support poor at best. You really need to get upgraded, perhaps consider RedHat Enterprise Linux, which is from the same stable and should be a straight upgrade.

As far as upgrading Samba goes, it's going to be tricky. You cant really use the built-in update system (yum or up2date) 'cos RedHat dont support this system any more. You might be able to get updates from http://fedoralegacy.org, they've officially stopped doing updates for RH version 8 and earlier, so you wont get any latest bugfixes. They have a docs page telling you how to configure yum on RH7.x, I'd start there.