Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have to change the IP address on a friends server tomorrow and I was hoping to get a few pointers from those of you more knowledgeable than I. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    414

    Changing Server IP


    I have to change the IP address on a friends server tomorrow and I was hoping to get a few pointers from those of you more knowledgeable than I. The machine is running Fedora Core 2, and the service provider has changed and given them a new IP address, that has to be set tomorrow.
    Thanks for the advice.
    registered linux user: 387197

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    rehdat-config-network or edit /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcg-eth0.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    414
    Quote Originally Posted by serz
    rehdat-config-network or edit /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcg-eth0.
    I just looked at this on my own box and got this:
    DEVICE=eth0
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    HWADDR=00:10:5A:14:43:53
    ONBOOT=yes
    TYPE=Ethernet
    DHCP_HOSTNAME=spottydog.doghouse.com

    What parts in this need changed?

    [edit]This might make sound stupid but can I just do ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.255 where 0.0.0.0 is the IP address?
    registered linux user: 387197

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    You could just do "ifconfig eth0 IP up".
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  6. #5
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,934
    You can do that, but by far the easiest way is to use the redhat tool for network config. It works from both command line and from X - and it's actually called:

    system-config-network

    on FC2
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    414
    Thanks for the advice guys, I really appreciate it.

    Unfortunately the new service provider didn't provide updated DNS addresses, and the physical wiring on the server was a mess so they had to call in a professional.
    At least I learned something from the experience.
    registered linux user: 387197

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •