Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
ok well in composer when i finish my page i click on publish, in publish page. in site name: i put>>> www.mysite.com page title: i put >>> mysite i put ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    110

    help publish my webpage


    ok well in composer when i finish my page i click on publish, in publish page. in site name: i put>>> www.mysite.com
    page title: i put >>> mysite i put that cause in the html code is like this:>>> <title>mysite</title>
    file name: i put >>> test.html thats how i saved it

    site subdirectory for this page: i left it blank

    i check: use same location page

    i check off: use this site subdirectory

    in publish page under setting tab:

    site name: www.mysite.com

    publish addresse.g. 'ftp://ftp.myisp.com/myusername') i leave this blank

    http address of your homepage: (e.g. 'http://www.myisp.com/myusername')
    i put http://www.mysite.com/myusername

    login info same name i use when i login
    same password i use to login to linux

    error publish to sie:www.mysite.com
    site:url: ftp://ftp.www.mysite.com/myusername

    publish failed
    the server is not available

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Are you running an HTTP or FTP server?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    110

    help publish my webpage

    http. do i need to use ftp too

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    From the looks of it, it looks like komposer's trying to get to FTP. But I'm not that familiar with komposer so don't ask me

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    110

    help publish my webpage

    so is there another way to do this.
    im using apache. http when i open my browser and i enter www.mysite.com i see this in the address browser http://www.mysite.com and there a default page and it says that if i see this page that the apache is working,

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Apache is running, so one problem down. Second, where did you save your webpage to? I believe you have to put the pages in /var/www/htdocs/ (correct me if I am wrong).

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Nope you have done it correctly sofar

    place ur webbpage in /path/to/localhost/htdocs after clearing out every other index.html
    or place another directory in htdocs then edit apache.conf if version 1.3 or apache2.conf if version 2.x and adjust the DocumentRoot /path/to/localhost/htdocs/new_directory

    im on gentoo and mine is like this DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/main_site

    yours is probably not in /var/www/xxx/xx
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    110

    help publish my webpage

    how do i place my webbpage in /path/to/localhost/htdocs
    can u tell me step by step. when i save it i think i put it in /home/myusername

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    110

    help publish my webpage

    well i found where to place my my webpage in>>> /var/www/html but when i try to save it. it said can not create a file in /var/www/html
    /var/www/html is not writable how can i add my webpage to /var/www/html

  10. #10
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You will need root priviledges to write to that directory. If you are using KDE, type in a Konsole:
    Code:
    kdesu konqueror
    When you have given your root password and navigated to your htdocs directory, just copy and paste from where you originally saved the pages.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •