Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux, but I have just installed SuSE 10 64bit and would like to setup a home server to host my website and email etc. My ISP ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Home server

I am new to Linux, but I have just installed SuSE 10 64bit and would like to setup a home server to host my website and email etc.

My ISP is a dynamic IP and my router/firewall is a Netgear DG/wireless.

What information is out there for me to do this, or is this kind of project out of my reach as a newbie? Also, how would I get my site viewed by the net users, I do have my own domain name hosted by a company, so would I need to get this changed?

Thank you.

I'll try and give ou a few pointers for this.

I know nothing about mail servers so I'll just comment on the Webserver.

Install Apache, which should be in YaST. It should make the 'Document Root' (the directory where your website goes) something link /srv/www/htdocs - but check the apache config file (/etc/apache2/apache2.conf in SuSE iirc).

You'll have to open port 80 for the webserver, as well as forward port 80 from the router to your server.
    To do this check in YaST that the firewall has port 80 open.
    Then open up a web browser and type the IP address of your router in the address bar - this should (with any luck) take you to the config of your router , where you should forwart port 80 to the internal IP of your server.

To let others see your website they can: type in your IP address -- but this can change since your on a dynamic IP. So you could go someware like www.dyndns.org who, for free will operate the DNS for your system, and they give out (sub)domains such as foo.homelinux.org etc. Dyndns supply small programs that update your IP on there system so that it's always reachable.

Or you can get whoever controles the DNS of your current domain to point at you IP.

I hope this helps a bit.