Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I've got a samba machine that I can't access, it gives the following error: No more connections can be made to this remote computer at this time because there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie humbletech99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    225

    Samba Max Connections Problem?


    Hi,

    I've got a samba machine that I can't access, it gives the following error:

    No more connections can be made to this remote computer at this time because
    there are already as many connections as the computer can accept.

    I am familiar with samba and the smb.conf having used it for some years. I have only ever seen this error come out of a windows file sharing box, not a linux one!

    The service is working, there are a lot of clients connected (probably not more than 10-20 at the moment) but I can't see why this is happening. I've gone through the smb.conf and there is no statement regarding the max number of connections it can take.


    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    have a read through this might help you

    http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/samba...k/ch06_02.html

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie humbletech99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    225
    thanks, will do...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie humbletech99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    225
    I read it, but there are definitely no max connections set anywhere in my smb.conf

    I've even searched through the file for max and also for connection and they are nowhere to be found. It says the defautl shoudl be 0 for unlimited so this shouldn't happen.

    It's not happening now, just for a reasonably brief period...

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    sorry, maybe someone else may know, as i can't think of anything else

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    193
    Is there any other util with Apache that monitors the connections?
    Computers Are Like Air Conditioners... They\'re both useless with Windows open!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •