Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! the ex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    41

    setting up a linux server...


    so i got an old computer and id like to turn it into a server...

    an application server for file storage on the home network
    a web server for hosting files

    its an old AMD K9 300 MhZ, so what linux would run well on those circumstances?

    for the web server ill have to get apache, i dont want any monitors, keyboards etc. connected to the server so what can i use to get on to it (cpanel, remote desktop?) MySQL?

    do i need anything special for network server?


    thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined! the ex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    41
    i just checked out Damn Small Linux, and damn its small

    i think ill try that...

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ~/home
    Posts
    105

    Re: setting up a linux server...

    Quote Originally Posted by the ex
    do i need anything special for network server?
    Only knowledge of what you are doing.
    Help me getting a Opera licence
    Beginning with debian? -> read THIS!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! the ex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    41
    i know alot about servers and stuff in XP, but i am quite clueless with this...

    this would be a breeze with server 2003, but on that box, hahaha no way

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    You don't mention how much RAM you have. I assume you have adequate drive space for any distro. I have a box with a similar processor that worked fine as a server even before I added to it's original 256Mb RAM. I installed Fedora Core 3 on it just because I was familiar with Fedora. It's dog slow in graphics mode (when I'm doing configuration mods) but works great otherwise. It's my gateway/firewall and fileserver for my other 3 machines. While Fedora may not be the best choice, it's not a bad choice. The Fedora install has options for a server setup as well as the usual workstation and minimal setups. While Damn Small has it's place (I'm a fan), it may not be a good choice as a server: I doubt that it has all the services you would want, so you would probably have to find other sources to install ( I could be wrong). Of course, for a server, predictability of performance, even through upgrades, is even more important than in workstations.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  7. #6
    There are some security considerations you may want to take note of before deploying the machine as a server. There are plenty references when googling around and even this forum has a section on Linux Security.

    Hope this helps


    Tech

  8. #7
    Just Joined! the ex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    41
    i dont acually have the machine in my possesion yet, but i assume its 256 maybe 128, if it is ill upgrade it

  9. #8
    Even 64MB will probably work fine albeit very slow. Since MySQL is fairly economical with RAM that will hold up quite well too, but with a database you will likely also want Perl/PHP. It really depends on how much performance and how much scalability you are looking to have. For a home network, if you have the cabling and a router, the distribution will take care of the software and middleware.

    Tech

  10. #9
    Linux User yourname3232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    262
    I have almost the same machiene. I used Fedora Core 3 only because of the vast selection of server tools. I found it very easy and it had everything I needed on the fedora core disks (MySQL, PHP, Apache, Samba, VsFTP) and I reccommend webmin to do remote administration. It runs kinda slow, but I am more comfterbile with it than a command line.
    Registered GNU/Linux User #399198
    'Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.' -Steven Wright

  11. #10
    You can run server on 300Mhz machine with the latest Linux distro you choose but you will need to turn off grafical interface X window.

    You can doo really bunch of things with that machine since i installed Fedora Core 3 on a 366 Mhz with 64 Mb ram and it is working perfect.

    The main thing is what do you exacly want to do on that machine ?

    If you want to make a game server you can forget this whole thing but to be a local web server , FTP server , MySQL server , Router , etc you will have no problem at all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •