Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hi, i am trying to mask my http://11.111.111.11/ http://blah.blah.com obviously not exactly like that but thats my example....could i get some help please?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479

    need to know how to mask my Ip addy with a domain


    hi, i am trying to mask my http://11.111.111.11/ http://blah.blah.com obviously not exactly like that but thats my example....could i get some help please?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    How do you mean"mask"? Have you got yourself a real domain name, and what kind is it (ie. is it a "real" 2nd level domain, or some no-ip.org or similar address)?

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    sorry my terms arent really easy to understand...as i am not used to internet stuff. but i mean mask as in make it so that instead of having people go to my ip addy they would instead go to a website and it would point them to my addy. and the domain name would bne a subdomain given from a friend.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    In that case, all that should be necessary is essentially to make that domain point at your IP address. You should set the ServerName directive in your httpd.conf as well, but that isn't strictly necessary to make it work.

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    Ok how do i have it point to my ip?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Since your friend was the one who gave you the name, I would say that he has to do that.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    yep, what u want to do is (as far as i understand it) completely server side. ie whoever runs that domin server (your friend) needs to put in an entry for ur ip address.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •