Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi All, I'm brand new to MySQL/PHP/Apache and so far so good. I got all three working together, my PHP recognises calls to my MySQL database. Here's my question: By ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Moving MySQL datafile to another location

Hi All,

I'm brand new to MySQL/PHP/Apache and so far so good. I got all three working together, my PHP recognises calls to my MySQL database.

Here's my question:

By default all database files are located at: /var/lib/mysql/"db_name". I really need the datafile on another disk partition /data/my_data/"db_name".

To do this, I stopped MySQL, copied (cp) all datafiles from /var/lib/mysql to /data/my_data/, then
    modified the /etc/my.cnf file arguement from datadir=/var/lib/mysql to datadir=/data/my_data.

Then attempted a restart of MySQL. It fails with this error:
    Code:
    "Initializing MySQL database: Installing all prepared tables
    060125 10:41:44 [Warning] Can't create test file /data/my_data/mysql/localhost.lower-test
    /usr/libexec/mysqld: Can't change dir to '/data/my_data/mysql/' (Errcode: 13)
    060125 10:41:44 [ERROR] Aborting
    "
    I just changed back to the original and the base came right up.

What I'm I doing wrong? Do I need to include 'mysql' in my path?

Regards
    Mike in Toronto

Just Joined!
    i would look at the permissions set to /data/my_data. if you start mysqld under its own user it might not have sufficient rights to read that dir. if permissions aren't the issue i'd guess a google search for "mysqld errcode 13" might help.

scm
    Linux Engineer
    Errno 13 is permission denied. I'd have copied the files (as root) with:
    Code:
    cd /var/lib/mysql
    find . -print -depth | cpio -pvdum /data/my_data
    which should preserve uid, gid and permissions.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!