Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
hi, im trying to setup ana apache server but when it goes to start up it hits some error and stops. im not all that shure what you would need ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317

    apache2 error


    hi, im trying to setup ana apache server but when it goes to start up it hits some error and stops. im not all that shure what you would need to see, nut i do see these errors.

    when i run apache2:

    tux ben # apache2
    [Wed Feb 08 16:31:15 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
    (9Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address [::]:80
    no listening sockets available, shutting down
    Unable to open logs

    when i run the startup script:
    tux ben # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
    * Starting apache2 ... [ !! ]

    when i run apache2 -k start:
    tux ben # apache2 -k start
    [Wed Feb 08 16:38:34 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
    httpd (pid 14650) already running

    when i run apache2 -V:
    tux ben # apache2 -V
    Server version: Apache/2.0.55
    Server built: Jan 23 2006 18:45:37
    Server's Module Magic Number: 20020903:11
    Architecture: 64-bit
    Server compiled with....
    -D APACHE_MPM_DIR="server/mpm/prefork"
    -D APR_HAS_SENDFILE
    -D APR_HAS_MMAP
    -D APR_HAVE_IPV6 (IPv4-mapped addresses enabled)
    -D APR_USE_SYSVSEM_SERIALIZE
    -D APR_USE_PTHREAD_SERIALIZE
    -D SINGLE_LISTEN_UNSERIALIZED_ACCEPT
    -D APR_HAS_OTHER_CHILD
    -D AP_HAVE_RELIABLE_PIPED_LOGS
    -D HTTPD_ROOT="/usr"
    -D SUEXEC_BIN="/usr/sbin/suexec2"
    -D DEFAULT_PIDLOG="/var/run/httpd.pid"
    -D DEFAULT_SCOREBOARD="logs/apache_runtime_status"
    -D DEFAULT_LOCKFILE="/var/run/accept.lock"
    -D DEFAULT_ERRORLOG="logs/error_log"
    -D AP_TYPES_CONFIG_FILE="/etc/apache2/mime.types"
    -D SERVER_CONFIG_FILE="/etc/apache2/httpd.conf"

    the contents of /var/log/apache2/error_log is:
    [Tue Feb 07 21:41:09 2006] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/sbin/suexec2)
    [Tue Feb 07 21:41:09 2006] [notice] Digest: generating secret for digest authentication ...
    [Tue Feb 07 21:41:11 2006] [notice] Digest: done
    [Tue Feb 07 21:41:11 2006] [notice] Apache configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Wed Feb 08 15:42:12 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs, referer: http://gentoo-wiki.com/Apache2_Install
    [Wed Feb 08 15:42:12 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs
    [Wed Feb 08 15:42:40 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs, referer: http://gentoo-wiki.com/Apache2_Install
    [Wed Feb 08 15:42:40 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs
    [Wed Feb 08 15:44:04 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs
    [Wed Feb 08 15:44:04 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs
    [Wed Feb 08 15:44:24 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs, referer: http://gentoo-wiki.com/Apache2_Install
    [Wed Feb 08 15:44:24 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs
    [Wed Feb 08 16:12:36 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs
    [Wed Feb 08 16:12:36 2006] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /usr/htdocs

    so all i can tell is its looking for usr/htdocs and i dont have that in my system. is there a way to change that and what should i change it to?
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    KP22
    Posts
    106
    I think either your config is wrong or then you have already another webserver listening port 80. Be sure you have configured your /etc/apache2/vhosts.d/default_vhost.conf or something like that. New versions of apache hold the critical lines in this vhost file. And have you checked that this line "/usr/htdocs" points to root from where you want to serve files (and it really exists)?

  3. #3
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    i created a symlink for usr/htdocs.
    i dont know what the vhosts are, do i have to do something in there to make it work?
    i shouldnt have another webserver running, this is my first time doing this.
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    KP22
    Posts
    106
    These "vhosts" are not really vhosts by default, but in my config they have critical config about how to serve the server's root directory. I suggest you to check your configs in your apache config directory because all new and updated apache2:s of mine have this "vhost" configuration and well, how many hours I have spent in locating the apache configs.. Or can you try to reinstalling apache?

  5. #5
    Linux User muha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    290
    to make sure whether you have a webserver running look at your processes (as root):
    ps aux

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •