Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello people, I'm trying to set a small server for my html web page. I found some good web pages that helps setting the web server but neither of them ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4

    Fedora Core 4 server help


    Hello people, I'm trying to set a small server for my html web page. I found some good web pages that helps setting the web server but neither of them helped. The first problem that I have is that I have a router. I use internet cable with a cable modem; the cable modem is connected to a router that connects two computers. I canít find the way to port forward to 80. The other problem is that i use a dynamic IP so i registered to a dns. When I configure the httpd.conf in ServerName I tried with the dns but didnít work so i changed to the IP xxx.xxx.xxx:80. The problem with that is that is a dynamic IP so i have to change everytime the IP updates. I edited the host typing gedit /etc/hosts and it looks like this:

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    168.243.219.16 mabzerox.blogdns.com mabzerox
    localhost.localdomain localhost

    I created a public_html folder typing:
    mkdir public_html
    chmod -R 755 public_html
    cd /home
    chmod 711 your_user_name
    chcon -R -t httpd_user_content_t /home/your_user_name/public_html/
    Well after configuring the rest of it and executed apache with /etc/init.d/httpd start and tested it typing http://localhost/ I got nothing. I followed all the steps and tried modifying the httpd.conf and without any result.
    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    514
    Quote Originally Posted by MABZeroX
    The first problem that I have is that I have a router. I use internet cable with a cable modem; the cable modem is connected to a router that connects two computers. I canít find the way to port forward to 80.
    What router is this? Is there a configuration page for the router? Can you give more details? This is kind of important since otherwise nobody from the Internet will be able to connect to your computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by MABZeroX
    The other problem is that i use a dynamic IP so i registered to a dns.
    You should sign up for one of many free dynamic DNS services like DynDNS, No-IP, and many others. Then you install and configure one of many update clients (I use ddclient) for Linux that will update them automatically with your IP address whenever it changes.

    Quote Originally Posted by MABZeroX
    I created a public_html folder typing:
    mkdir public_html
    chmod -R 755 public_html
    cd /home
    chmod 711 your_user_name
    chcon -R -t httpd_user_content_t /home/your_user_name/public_html/
    Well after configuring the rest of it and executed apache with /etc/init.d/httpd start and tested it typing http://localhost/ I got nothing. I followed all the steps and tried modifying the httpd.conf and without any result.
    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thank you
    Do you have the "UserDir public_html" directive set in your configuration? I think it is disabled by default.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4
    Hello, with some tests and time it finally worked, i can see the apache web page but the most important part is the router. I cant find any information about the router. I've been looking for it for weeks without any result. the only solution that I can find is to take off the router so that people will connect directly to my server.
    Thank you

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    You having nothing in you're WEB GUI from the router that is named either: NAT (Network Address Translation) / Virtual Servers or Port Forwarding ?

    Check you're router for it's brand name and the type nr. It should be underneath you're router on a sticker . Post it and i'll find you a guide for you're router.

    Good luck.

    Puntjuh

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4
    My router is a NEXXT 8 port NW223NXT01

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4
    The part that I don't understand is in the hosts configuration:
    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    67.172.236.37 stantonfinley.org stantonfinley

    In the first IP you have to put the IP that has Fedora in the network card or the private IP but in the second IP what IP I have to put if i have a dynamic IP, I have to change it everytime it updates? I tried putting it with the dns link (mabzerox.blogdns.com) but the IP is a different one and it will keep changing. The other problem is doing a NAT to port 80, I was told that I need a ez-ipupdate and scrip it so that i would work.
    Thank You

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •