Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
i've an ADSL modem connected my pc via eth0, its ip is 192.168.1.1 when i type it on a browser it goes to modem confg page. i've an apache server ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151

    How can i host a web site?


    i've an ADSL modem connected my pc via eth0, its ip is 192.168.1.1
    when i type it on a browser it goes to modem confg page.

    i've an apache server running,and i want to host my own web page,but when i type my real ip to browser it again goes to modem confg page.

    Do i need 2 ip's?

    before (with dial-up) it was working.

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    what happens if u type http://localhost:80 in your browser? does it
    display the webpage? 192.168.1.1 I guess is the default ip route to the modem config page....what ip have you assigned in the httpd.conf file?
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    Code:
    http://localhost
    works, but entering my ip does not.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You probably won't be able to do that internally from your network. Ask a friend to try to access it from his/her connection, and see if that works.

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    might be <ip-addr>:80 is designed to go to the modem config page, can you try assigning a diff port number and see if that works using ip?
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    i changed the port number to 81, then both http://ip and http://localhost doesnt work.

    before this,i tried my ip from babelfish.altavista.com and i get 401 error.
    my friends tried my ip, they got same errors.

    i tried all of above on WinXP+iis (confgrtion is easier) the results are same.
    Have a nice day

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    (above i changed the port number of iis).
    then i changed port number of modem page,
    now http://localhost works, http://ip says page cannot be found, http://ip:newportnumber goes modem page.
    Have a nice day

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    93
    I sounds to me that you have a modem-router. Right?
    In that case are you sure that you have your modem fowording the port 80 requests to your machine?

    A friend of mine had to configure the modem iptables before he could get his ftp-server to take resquestes from outside his home-lan.
    Don't know if that's that's the case with you....

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    my modem is this or this
    im not sure. but it has router features.
    Have a nice day

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    93
    Well, this is what i'd try:
    - Configure the router for a certain iprange for you network
    - Use the router's web-config page to configure it so: resquests on port 80 get set to a designated ip within your network.

    I think this should work

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •