Find the answer to your Linux question:
My work blocks such E-Mail access like sbc, yahoo, etc.. but I can get to like a exchange server and look at there mail. So I assume its only blocking ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

E-Mail Server .. Feedback on a Idea I have

My work blocks such E-Mail access like sbc, yahoo, etc.. but I can get to like a exchange server and look at there mail. So I assume its only blocking certain ports.

What I would like to do is somehow set up a email server to dl my email from my sbc account and have it sent to a mail server similiar to exchange so I can access it from work.

Not sure where to begin or if this is at all feesable.

Linux Newbie
    Or you can set up a squid proxy server and use that to go to any webmail (or website, for that matter) that you choose. Your idea may work, but I have no real experience with email servers.

-Dan

Sounds like what you want is:

- Your own email/server box sat at home on your ADSL line, using fetchmail to read mail from your sbc and dumping into local mailboxes.
    - Dovecot or similar IMAP package to give you access to your email on that machine.
    - Maybe consider Squirrelmail too, to privide a web-based access to your email accounts on that machine.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    DO you have any documentation or tutorials on squirrel mail. Because I am trying to set it up on my machine but i am not sure if my have IMAP running or if i set up squirrel correctly. Thanks

One step at a time, do it this way:

- Set up your mail server for local mailbox deliver, then
    - put your IMAP server on, check its operation with a client such as evolution or thunderbird, then
    - get squirrelmail to work, knowing that the underlying system is fully functional.