Find the answer to your Linux question:
1st - let me state that I'm new to networking and Apache though I do have an extensive programming background. I am using the following Vhosts.conf file listed below (in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Editing Vhost and virtual name hosting stops working!

1st - let me state that I'm new to networking and Apache though I do have an extensive programming background. I am using the following Vhosts.conf file listed below (in the sample conf www.mydomain.us is registered and otherdomain is internal) I've looked at the virtual host docs and I've set this up six ways from Sunday and the snippet below works EXCEPT, it seems that if I make a change (like add a customlog directive) and do a ./apachectl stop and then ./apachectl start and then try to access www.mydomain.us - i get a forbidden don't have access message from apache. if i re-edit and then re-boot it then works fine. Am i shutting down/restarting apache incorrectly? I don't see why just editing the conf causes this to happen. if anyone has any ideas (and it's ok to tell me i'm i've overlooked something simple) I would appreciate. It does not appear from the virtual name docs that it should be this hard. tia - tbullard1

NameVirtualHost *
    <VirtualHost *>
    ServerName www.mydomain.us
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html/mydomain
    ServerAdmin tbullard1@nc.rr.com
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.html index.htm index.shtml
    ErrorDocument 404 "http://www.mydomain.us/missing.html"
    </VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName otherdomain.com
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html/otherdomain
    ServerAdmin tbullard1@nc.rr.com
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.html index.htm index.shtml
    ErrorDocument 404 "http://otherdomain.com/missing.html"
    </VirtualHost>

Linux User
    Just a thought - try stopping it, then editing the file, and restarting it...