Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I really am a complete newby at running a server (miles away in a different country) and to Linux. I've got Apache 2.0.54, PHP 5.0.4. Having just put a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy GD2 in PHP 5.0.4

Hi,
    I really am a complete newby at running a server (miles away in a different country) and to Linux.
    I've got Apache 2.0.54, PHP 5.0.4.
    Having just put a new virtual server on that uses GD2, it reports that GD2 isn't there.
    In the phpinfo it says '--enable-gd-native-ttf' '--without-gdbm' which is as close to GD2 as I can find, but doesn't sound too hopefull.
    It also says additional ini files parsed:
    /etc/php.d/imap.ini, /etc/php.d/ldap.ini, /etc/php.d/mysql.ini, /etc/php.d/mysqli.ini
    which explains why MySQL works.
    But how do I get GD2 in there as well?

Any nice simple help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Ron

Just Joined!
    Hey coomkeen, had a similar with problem with ubuntu. It showed that I GD2 installed but phpinfo wouldn't report. I needed php5-gd module (package )then it worked. BTW, don't forget to set switches in php.ini (extension=gd.so) if this is the distro you are using. Hope this helps.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for that.
    I don't think the GD package is installed though, as I can't find a gd.so file.

Where did you get your php5-gd module from?

Regards,
    Ron

Just Joined!

Smile

I used synaptic package manager search option to see if was installed. It wasn't listed as GD2 for file name but something like libgd2-? .That is what confused me as to why it wouldn't show in phpinfo. I then did a search (synaptic) for php5-gd and found package at ubuntu universe repository. Synaptic is the graphical version of apt package manager. Hope this helped.

Just Joined!