Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello: I'm also a bit of a newb. I'm running fedora core 2 on a linux server at 1and1.com. I chose fedora core 2 because it was the only option ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

mail server help

Hello:

I'm also a bit of a newb. I'm running fedora core 2 on a linux server at 1and1.com. I chose fedora core 2 because it was the only option that didn't make you use plesk, which was too restrictive.

Sendmail is working for the server to be able to generate outgoing emails, but incoming emails get bounced. I'm not sure what I need to do so email will get accepted, nor am I sure what i need to install in order to read and respond to incoming email. Is this something somebody could help me with? I think this would be a fairly simple job for somebody who knew what they were doing.

Bob

I gave some help related to much the same issue for Fedora Core 5 on this thread. It was for Fedora Core 5, not 2, but Sendmail is very very similar on these two distros (in fact the config I gave on that thread I used to use on my FC2 server before I went up to CentOS4!)

If you cant find what you need on there, post back here and ask specific questions, and we'll do what we can to help.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!

I'll check it...

... thanks. I saw that post but stopped reading when the question started getting into postfix and a bunch of other products. Also, I was hoping (naively) that I could do something like "yum install exactlywhatIwant". But I read through your other post now and I think I may be able to muck my way through the process if I'm lucky.