Find the answer to your Linux question:
Im running Xebian (Debian) for xbox. I have swat installed to configure samba. I have a root dir named "/samba_share" and i have that put into swat as my path. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Samba and Swat help

Im running Xebian (Debian) for xbox. I have swat installed to configure samba. I have a root dir named "/samba_share" and i have that put into swat as my path. Read only is set to no, and guest is set to ok, and browseable is set to yes. On my XP machine i go to view workgroup computers but its not listed there, so i goto microsoft windows network and it shows "Xebian", so i click on it, and then it shows my server "workgroup server (samba 3.0.14a-Debian)(Workgroup)" In swat under Globals i have the workgroup being "WORKGROUP" and netbios name to be "XBOXSERVER". So my firt question is why is my samba server not in the same workgroup as my computers. My computers are all joined in workgroup called "Workgroup". My next problem is after i navagate to my xboxserver under microsoft windows network, and i double click to access my /samba_share directory, it asks for a username and password. BUt i dont have one that works for it, and cant figure out how to make one with the swat passwords utility. Please help. Thanks

Justin

Checkout this article for setting up a samba server. My guess for the reason why your xbox doesn't show is this, Linux is case sensitive Workgroup is not the same as WORKGROUP.

As for the password, if you have access to the command line on the xbox, then use smbpasswd to set the passwords. Or change the security level to share.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your response, i will read over it, and hopefully it will solve my problem.
    Another quick question, i use a program PuTTY to ssh into my linux box. I log in with username root, after i put in my password it says