Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all. I've been following the article "Setting Up a Server" Contributed by Davidlohr Bueso to this forum. I am totally new to Linux and trying to educate myself in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

PHP Problem

Hi all.

I've been following the article "Setting Up a Server" Contributed by Davidlohr Bueso to this forum. I am totally new to Linux and trying to educate myself in its wonders. I am Using Debian and have successfully installed Apache2/2.0.54 and my simple website is up and running. I followed the instructions Installing and Configuring MySQL - no error messages there either!

However, when completing the procedures for "installing and Configuring PHP", all appeared to go well (I installed PHP4). However, when it came to running the recommended test document in my browser (/var/www/test.php which contains the single line):

<? phpinfo(); ?>

the following was returned:

"Warning: Unknown(/var/www/test.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in Unknown on line 0

Warning: (null)(): Failed opening '/var/www/test.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in Unknown on line 0"

Looking in the Apache2 error log, there is a whole page of messages refering to this action, The first two lines are:

PHP Warning: Function registration failed - duplicate name - mysql_connect in Unknown on line 0
    PHP Warning: Function registration failed - duplicate name - mysql_pconnect in Unknown on line 0

... and so on

I have tried to understand the problem but all that I have read so far has not provided me with any clue.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Tom

Just Joined!