Find the answer to your Linux question:
Is there something related to a firmware within Postfix? A friend asked me to take a look to his mail server and told me that the firmware was corrupt. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Postfix firmware?

Is there something related to a firmware within Postfix? A friend asked me to take a look to his mail server and told me that the firmware was corrupt. I haven't gone to see it but I'm new to all this server stuff and don't know how to do anything with the server!
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

Linux Enthusiast
    It could be an appliance that is using a Linux image and various smtp daemons.

They just said it was a normal RedHat server ..
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

Firmware is normally a binary executable image stored in some kind of permanent (or semi-permanent) storage, usually flash memory or static ram of some kind. The important thing to note is that firmware is the name given to a program to control some device, a program that is embedded within it. It's not normally user changeable and installable or uninstallable like ordinary software on your computer. Think of it more like your BIOS on your PC.