Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
OK, this is a non-typical question. I have been running Redhat for many years as a http/ftp/mail server, but since they eliminated the "free" distro and went to Fedora I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What can I do next with my Debian box

OK, this is a non-typical question. I have been running Redhat for many years as a http/ftp/mail server, but since they eliminated the "free" distro and went to Fedora I chose to reload my box with something else. After trying Slack, Debian, and FreeBSD I chose to go with Debian. I got it up and running with all the previous services I used with Redhat (apache, proftp, qmail, vpop, horde, squirrelmail, php, mysql). I continued installing/configuring/testing/playing with different things like phpmyadmin, php-nuke, apt-get, php-post, twiki, horde, squirrelmail, webmin, qmail, webalizer, logwatch, etc. But now I am looking for new things. What are some services or applications I can try next. I really have no focus or direction with what I am doing, I just like to play with things I guess.

Thanks

Linux User
    Get a Windows box and ASP.

hahahhahaha.

Linux Engineer
    You could give the box to me.

HTH
    Lansbury's Lido

thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    you could remove the heatsink and make some nice cooked breakfasts on the cpu:P

Linux Engineer
    And by the way, welcome to the forums!
    Lansbury's Lido

thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Linux User

PHP and samba

If you're looking for experience that could help with employment then I recommend learning to program in PHP. I think webbased applications are awesome and there's always some contract work around. as well as all the cool stuff you can develop just for fun.