Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello All I am a a newbie to linux and wanted to setup a server from my home. I have currently built a computer with Suse Linux 10.1 on it. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Server Setup

Hello All

I am a a newbie to linux and wanted to setup a server from my home. I have currently built a computer with Suse Linux 10.1 on it. I would like the server to provide the following services

webhosting
    email - smtp if possible
    ftp

Here is the software i am/would like to use

webserver = Apache Tomcat. I know apache is the standard but I have a lot of jsps/dynamic content and I have read tomcat can handle this alone. I also read that i can just chnage tomcat to look at port 80 and It will be ok

database = postgres

everything needs to be done

Currently I can use the web app on the computer with localhost, but I need to be able it to use it on www.myhostname.com and do the email server and ftp setup. Finally I am using a Bellsouth DSL connection (no static ip). If someone can provide insight or post an article link that would be a great help

thanks

Linux Guru
    I have only tinkered with most of the above so I may defer to another member on that to help you, but I have experience with DNS. I use Dynamic DNS (www.dyndns.org) who will provide a free DNS account and service for you.

You can install a client daemon which will update your new IP address with their servers for you. You may find your router already has inbuilt support - this was the case for me. There are other providers like www.no-ip.com which may also suit. All you need to do is get a free account, download the client software and run through the install. There is a HOWTO with it but if you are having any trouble post back and I'll try to help out.

Check out YaST > Software for the other software you are looking for. I think it should all be available in there for you.

Linux Enthusiast