Find the answer to your Linux question:
So, Im setting up my first linux server, I need to have these installed..... Apache PHP Mysql Ftp Smtp(Optional) Remote Connection....(MUST HAVE) I also need to be able to control ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Server with apache, PHP, Mysql, etc...Which One?

So, Im setting up my first linux server,

I need to have these installed.....

Apache
    PHP
    Mysql
    Ftp
    Smtp(Optional)

Remote Connection....(MUST HAVE)
    I also need to be able to control it from a windows computer Remotely throught the network.

Which distribution should i choose to install for this kind of setup, And i need it easy to set up, As i am a beginner at linux.

This server is just a home setup, and does not be fancy, as im just going to develop test sites on it, and im not putting it on the internet.

Also, a distribution that does not require like 5 disk, And if you can, Please find a http link that is fast like 200 - 300kbps or more would be nice.

Linux Engineer
    Every single linux distro or bsd flavor has these particular programs and capabilities. If you just install the server apps and don't install an x-server or any other bloat packages, then you won't need five disks.

Use a netinstall cd, then it won't matter how fast your dl link is because you will only be downloading a minimal install cd, around 50 or 100mb. Which will boot and download the packages you need.

Go to www.distrowatch.org, or google.com and do a little research...just a little friendly advice before you get locked. We see a lot of these threads. A LOT.

For remote connection I recommend VNC. BUt it's a little tricky to find some good tutorials(i didn't find a good one yet).

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    why go to all the trouble of vnc when you can just use ssh?

Just Joined!