Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I need to know how to find out if Apache is installed on a RH server. When I try to run the command 'service httpd start' I get an error ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    How do you find out if Apache is installed?


    I need to know how to find out if Apache is installed on a RH server. When I try to run the command 'service httpd start' I get an error message failed.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Could u post the error mesage up here? That should help!
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2
    do an rpm -q apache

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    This is what I get when I try to start the service.

    service httpd start
    Starting httpd: httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
    [FAILED]

    So I added the servers static ip address in the httpd.conf file and just get Starting httpd: [FAILED]

    And when I check to see if any httpd processes are running I get this.
    ps -aux |grep httpd
    root 22140 0.0 0.1 5076 588 pts/0 S 01:50 0:00 grep httpd

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    do you know where your apache error log file is located?
    if so jsut do a tail -f <filename? and see the error message.
    unless you post the error message things will be difficult to debug.
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    I've came to the conclusion that apache is not installed on the server. Does anyone know of a good tutorial or could walk me through the basics on getting apache installed on a dedicated RH server remotely with ssh?

    Thanks

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    Apache is installed, you just have to edit apache's config files..

    Kriss

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    I've looked around and found the following files:
    /usr/sbin/apachectl
    /etc/httpd/ --> config files

    but can't find an apache directory.
    ran rpm -q apache and returns that it is not installed.
    since apachectl is on the system does that mean that apache has to already been installed?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    run "apachectrl start" to start it.

    in redhat, apache doesnt have its own directory for binaries, you just have your httpd in /usr/bin/ from what i remember.

    Jason

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    When I try to start apache with /apachectl start I get the following error.
    httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •