Find the answer to your Linux question:
Quote: Originally Posted by maddmatt Hi Roxoff, I have never gotten into forums and I wasn't sure how to start a thread and didn't want to look like a total ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Permissions issue with a windows file server

Quote:
    Originally Posted by maddmatt
    Hi Roxoff,

I have never gotten into forums and I wasn't sure how to start a thread and didn't want to look like a total dork, but I do need help and any help would be greatly appreciated.(got my Missus to show me - sometimes the simple things are the most deceiving.... [total Dork? Proven!])

I am only a novice but I have set up several files servers to work with my window systems, I use them for replication but now and then I do a reinstall on a bigger drive when I need more space.

The few I have happening right now work fine even to this day so I am totally lost to find that the latest one I have setup (in exactly the same way as the last) will only allow read access to my user....?

I go in through windows as root and I do get read and write access so I have been trialing new smb.conf settings and even loaded a perfectly working smb.conf and still I only get read only access!

I am setting these up from a "step by step" document I have written for myself (that I have used for the previous 4 installs not including these last 2) and I must be missing something?

I have installed on FC4 and now CentOS but I get the same issue...

If it is not the smb.conf or an Linux version issue what could it be?

I am out of new ideas so if you could even breifly give me 2 or 3 things to research and check it would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Matt

Hi there Matt,

You really should post a help to the forums for this; it's really not hard, and you'll get the benefit of more than just my help.