Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
View server at http://cia.richgannon.net PHP @ http://cia.richgannon.net/phpBB2/ Hi BlueFusion, are the url's above your site? I tried accessing phpBB2 and php is already working (your site didn't asked me to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83

    Hi BlueFusion,

    are the url's above your site? I tried accessing phpBB2 and php is already working (your site didn't asked me to download)?

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    139
    As of late last night, I got it working with PHP support :P .

    As my biology teacher stresses, "If all else fails, read the directions" .

    I googled alot...and on the 16th page, I finally came across this:

    http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.apache2.php

    The most obvious place, too.

    But one more question, how can I make apache give a 403 error page instead of listing everything in that directory when there is no index.html, .htm or .php? It's not a big deal, but if you can, can you please tell?
    If you love something, emerge it

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    sweet, i dont know how to get apache to give a 403 error as i jst stuck a index.html in ever director that was blank.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    139
    Quote Originally Posted by big_k105
    sweet, i dont know how to get apache to give a 403 error as i jst stuck a index.html in ever director that was blank.
    Thats what I figured I'd be doing. Thanks alot eveyone.
    If you love something, emerge it

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    You can also use "Options -Indexes" which will redirect your user to the Forbidden page (403).

    Hope it helps.

  7. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    139
    hmmm, I changed
    Code:
        Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    to
    Code:
        Options -Indexes FollowSymLinks
    and restarted apache via apachectl and my PHP ceased to work completely. I tried restarting the machine completely as well, and it failed....of course. I also of course tried the simple correction of undoing the change to no avail. I have the worst luck
    If you love something, emerge it

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •