Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I just got done setting up ubuntu server 6.10 and LAMP on a spare box I have laying around. I pointed a domain to it and uploaded a 8mb dummy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Please Test My Servers Speed


    I just got done setting up ubuntu server 6.10 and LAMP on a spare box I have laying around.

    I pointed a domain to it and uploaded a 8mb dummy file to test the download speeds.

    I connected to a neighbors wireless lan to get off my network and test the download speeds but his signal kept on dying to I dont think it was a good test.

    Im running dsl so i know the speeds wont be super fast. On my neighbors weak connection i was getting 60kbs from the server.

    If you guys could please goto the link provided and download the test file and let me know what kind of speeds your getting it would really help me to figure out what kind of sites I can run from home and which ones I should keep on the paid host.

    heres the link click here

    You can report your speeds back here or email me at dj2501@gmail.com

    Thanks for your help everyone

    also heres the server specs incase anyone wants to know

    Hardware:

    Dual Intell PIII 800mhz CPUs Totaling 1.6GHZ
    740 MB Ram
    10/100 NIC
    15 GB Main 10000rpm HDD (soon to be upgraded)
    10 GB Seconday 7500rpm HDD (server backups)

    Software:

    Ubuntu server 6.10
    lamp setup
    webmin

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Bump............someone please test the speed

  3. #3
    Linux User yourname3232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    262
    I get an unable to connect error.
    Registered GNU/Linux User #399198
    'Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.' -Steven Wright

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by yourname3232
    I get an unable to connect error.
    QFT I can't connect to it either.
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    my wife shut down the comp that updates the dns for the server (dynamic ip )

    Its up now, please try.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    i was gettin between 35-40kbs downloading it
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  7. #7
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    It took ~5 seconds to get up to speed, but then I got ~40KB/s.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    so is this a good speed for a dsl connected linux server?

    Do you think there would be alot of lag loading webpages?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •