Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
hello, Nowdays i'm learning web application development in java programming. i've figured out that i need to install tomcat and apache. i dont understand about it so much... (but i've ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39

    Trying to Install the tomcat apache


    hello,
    Nowdays i'm learning web application development in java programming.
    i've figured out that i need to install tomcat and apache.
    i dont understand about it so much... (but i've seen it working under windows)
    i've tried to follow after a lot of tutorials how to set the system up for web developing, but none of them worked.

    i've followed after the next tutorial:
    tutorial

    now... i've downloaded everything... and i have installed everything exactly the way that the tutorials explains.

    in the last part of the tutorial theres a way to know if my installations had been successfully configured. it says: write localhost:8080/ at the url of the browser. when im typing in the firefox's url box: http://localhost:8080/ or http://localhost:8181/ it doesn't do a thing. it says :
    "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost:8080"

    am i doing something wrong?

    p.s.
    i've started the server by writing in the console:
    "$CATALINA_HOME/bin/startup.sh" and it doesn't show me the localhost:8080 default page....
    and i have Suse 10.1...

    please help me, and im sorry for my horrible english. its not my native language.

    MiNiZeRo

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    anybody?............................

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer jledhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,077
    lets start with the basics. what distro are you using? when running the startup.sh script are there any errors on the screen? after you run the startup.sh script (I assume its being ran from terminal), do you then close the window?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    43
    do it fast...put the Suse dvd and search there for tomcat. Then install that and it will work.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    for jledhead:

    1.my distro is: Suse 10.1
    2.when im running the startup.sh script it says:
    Using CATALINA_BASE: /home/MiNiZeRo/tomcat/
    Using CATALINA_HOME: /home/MiNiZeRo/tomcat/
    Using CATALINA_TMPDIR: /home/MiNiZeRo/tomcat/temp
    Using JRE_HOME: /usr/lib/jvm/jre
    3.i dont close the window

    for asmar:

    for the suse dvd.. theres no even one search result for "tomcat"...

    what should i do?

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    Did you install the tomcat apache connector? I'm attempting to take a pre-packaged redhat install of a product we sell here and get it to go on slack. It's quite a ***** IMHO to get this set up from scratch. My current problem is the loading of an apache module, which had been traced down to the fact that javac can't compile because of some path problems. Working on getting slack's extra/java stuff re installed. Good luck I'm in the same boat.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    i did install.............. //something to make this message longer

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    43
    MiNiZeRo it should be there. I install SuSE 10.1 a while ago and I am 100% sure that it was there. Search for jakarta as well as it might be with that name.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    asmar... its not there... both of them...
    maybe could you post the rpm?

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    Is there a firewall blocking 8080?

    Finally got tomcat going on the slack box about an hour ago after compiling jsvc putting it in the right path and editing a script or two.

    Mine does the same thing but returns to a prompt when i run startup.sh. Then the page loads fine from a browser.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •