Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello Everybody. I'm totally niewbie in linux and i'm trying to setup a real server for hosting. The server exists under a real domain and a mapping between its name ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9

    Apache Help


    Hello Everybody.

    I'm totally niewbie in linux and i'm trying to setup a real

    server for hosting. The server exists under a real domain and a

    mapping between its name and its IP address exists.

    Assume that the name of the server is "server.domain.com".

    After installing Apache and trying http://localhost on the

    server, a message "IT WORKS" appears, which means that apache

    has been installed successfully.

    QUESTION!!!

    If i try http://server.domain.com from another PC will i see

    the same message and if not why??

    As i told you totally niewbie !!!!

    Thanx in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer jledhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,077
    Quote Originally Posted by crazycondor

    QUESTION!!!

    If i try http://server.domain.com from another PC will i see

    the same message and if not why??

    As i told you totally niewbie !!!!

    Thanx in advance
    if your local DNS points server.domain.com to the machine running apache then it will work.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanx for the reply jledhead.

    My local DNS points server.domain.com to the machine running apache but

    it doesn't work.

    Do you think that this is apache' configuration problem or has anything to do

    with virtual hosts??

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer jledhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,077
    maybe you have a firewall?

    If from another machine you can type server.domain.com and either ssh or ping or some other network service, then apache should work using that hostname also, as long as there is no firewall in between.

    just getting to the "It Works" page or apache default page, you shouldn't be worrying about virtual hosts yet, just get it working and then do VH stuff.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    What is the ServerName directive set to?

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    414
    Have you tried accessing the server by IP instead of domain, this will check whether it's a server or DNS problem.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanx for the replies guys.

    The problem was the firewall. I turned it off and it worked.

    But i don't want the firewall to be off!!

    I use only tomcat and i forward requests from port 80 to 8080.

    What services must allow in the firewall settings??

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    Well, look at your chains, is everything set to deny so you have to explicitly declare what you want to allow? You may just need a rule to allow connections to port 80.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •