Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I am running Mandrake 10 Community on a Gateway GP7-500, w/ Apache 2.0 and a Netgear MA101 Version B Wireless USB. I can successfully connect to the internet and any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363

    Apache Question


    I am running Mandrake 10 Community on a Gateway GP7-500, w/ Apache 2.0 and a Netgear MA101 Version B Wireless USB. I can successfully connect to the internet and any other web program, but for some reason Apache is not broadcasting what I have hosted. I can go to http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1 (not my IP) and view the site I have (phpBB 2.1.2), but only on the computer running Apache. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    have you checked permissions and all that...?
    maybe noone is allowed to view your page
    except localhost...?

    any errormessages??
    or just the old 404 ??

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    52
    Do you have a firewall running if you do turn it off and see if you can connect then. if you can you need to alter your firewall rules

  4. #4
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    i'll check my permissions, what should they be? View and Executeable by all? Are we talking about the type permissions that can be edited by right clicking on the folder I'm trying to host (/var/www/html)? If I go to it on any other computer, in IE or Mozilla, I get a Cannot find server error. Is because of permissions? oh and i have no firewall running.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    If it says "cannot find server", then I don't think it has anything to do with permissions (and I was sorta talking about those in apache.conf)....

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales
    Posts
    478

    stuff

    jason lambert posted something in the forum before about PHPBB needing to have a var set with its server name in. obviously from outside the pc it would not be localhost.

    try using its real ip address or domain name.
    No trees were harmed during the creation of this message. Its made from a blend of elephant tusk and dolphin meat.

  7. #7
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    i've tried that, but it doesn't work. not matter what, no computer (besides localhost) can find the server @ http://127.0.0.1

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    52
    You need to put the ip of the apache server when you try and access it from another machine i.e 192.168.0.10 or the server name not 127.0.0.1 or localhost.

  9. #9
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    ya i found a new IP address that works http://192.168.0.7 but can now i can only access it though computers on my home network (basically it's become an intranet). So how do it get it to "broadcast" (host, server, w/e) to any computer, become a part of the internet.

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Setup port fowarding on your router to route all incoming traffic on port 80 to 192.168.0.7:80

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •