Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Okay, here is the story. At my company we are designing a terminal server in VMware. I am setting up the Network Load Balancer and ISCSI interface box. Anyway, I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209

    VMware Server - Tools


    Okay, here is the story. At my company we are designing a terminal server in VMware. I am setting up the Network Load Balancer and ISCSI interface box.

    Anyway, I have come across a very large issue with both virtual boxes. I can't install VMware Tools. I tried going to the VMware forums and got some advice but I still have a problem. Here is a screenshot:


    What you're looking at:
    The vmware-config-tools.pl scripts looks for the C Header files. By default, it has a location specified which is correct. I did an "ls" to show it.

    What I have done thus far:
    Attempted to install the any-any patch, however the box is not a "host."
    Installed- * gcc
    * gcc-c++
    * kernel-source
    * kernel-syms
    * make (already installed)
    Ran these two commands as root in /usr/src/linux-
    make cloneconfig
    make modules_prepare

    ran config script.

    Still didn't work after reboot, noticed kernel-smp was installed. Removed it, installed kernel-default. Rebooted.

    Still doesn't work.

    The issue:
    After Googling and asking on the VMware forum, I don't know what the error means nor how to get around this.

    Specs:
    VMware ESX Enterprise
    OpenSUSE 10.1
    256MB allotted memory.
    10GB (roughly) allotted disk space.







    Any help would be appreciated, thank you.
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    13
    Sorry, I know this is probably going to be a dumb question (as I'm sure you've already checked), but if you do a uname -r, the kernel version that is returned is for sure the same versions as the headers you are referencing? I know I had that problem before...where I updated my kernel and headers and went to do a reboot, but it still booted up with the old version of kernel...thus breaking vmware when I tried to compile it. What does an ls of /usr/src return? Just curious...

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    Hey, thanks for the reply. Here's a screenshot:


    Does that look like it should? Thanks.
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    13
    Have you tried using the source underneath /usr/src/linux-2.6.16.21-0.25??

    It should be something like /usr/src/linux-2.6.16.21-0.25/include...but not sure. I'll investigate a little more...I believe I have a SUSE disk laying around somewhere.

    Also...I've not used SUSE in a long time...but shouldn't you have the kernel-headers package installed?

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    Yes. I just tried /lib/modules/2.6.16.21-0.25-default/build/include
    But, to no avail, it doesn't work.

    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •