Hello everyone,

please let me introduce myself:

My name is Sebastian Schneider, I am a 25-year-old trainee from Germany. I was studying computer science at the local university, but had to drop out due to personal reasons (no money ). I
am now hired as a trainee by an international company.

I am attending vocational school twice a week, which brings me to the reason for this message:

The next week will be "Projects Week" in this school, meaning that groups of trainees have to
propose projects and the most interesting projects will have to be implemented by groups of
four to five trainees. This part already has been done and unfortunately, my project got
ranked high enough by my classmates, meaning I will be the SMP project leader by tomorrow morning.

My project description was:

--- BEGIN DESCRIPTION
As most people know, E-Mail is not secure. People are receiving malicious programs or spam via E-Mail every day. For a large company, an E-Mail sent to all users will require them to read and evaluate it, causing costs as high as 3 EUR per Mail, per Minute and per User. This means, any spam sent to
every average user (not too familiar with spam recognition) on the company accounts will cost the
company about 3000 EUR for every thousand users affected.

I propose, as my project, setting up an E-Mail Proxy-Server, which will retrieve eMails from another server, check them for malware (using a virus scanner) and spam (using white-/blacklisting or Bayes' Filters) and move any suspicious E-Mail to a spam-folder (which has been done by many freemailers, such as GMX.net), which can be checked regularly for false-positives.

Users should be able to define whitelists for any E-Mail which has not come through and senders should receive notifications about filteres E-Mails, so no vital E-Mail will be lost.

The project should be realized using only Open-Source or free software in order to keep costs as low as possible.
--- END DESCRIPTION