Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello, I am trying to upgrade from PHP4 to PHP5, and I am having a few issues. First, when i entire ./configure --with-mysql --with-pgsql --with-apache=/etc/http (apache was installed via rpm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Upgrading to PHP5 and libphp5.so is not created


    Hello,

    I am trying to upgrade from PHP4 to PHP5, and I am having a few issues.

    First, when i entire ./configure --with-mysql --with-pgsql --with-apache=/etc/http (apache was installed via rpm when i installed OSCENT) i get an error that says it cannot find httpd.h.

    So I tried ./configure --with-mysql --with-pgsql and it worked fine.

    Then I procede to make, make test, then make install and everything appears to be working just fine.

    However, the libphp5.so file does not appear in my /etc/httpd/modules/ folder and i cannot find it anywhere.

    If someone could please assist me with this issue it would be greatly appreciated.

    -James

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    246
    If I'm not wrong, you need to specify '--with-apxs2=path/to/apxs/executable', which is probably /usr/bin/apxs or something. Try 'which apxs' if you can't find the program.

    EDIT: (Er, that's for Apache 2. If this is Apache 1, it's just --with-apxs=...)
    Situations arise because of the weather,
    And no kinds of love are better than others.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5
    I am unable to find the apxs program you are refering to. When i do a which apxs it says "no apxs in" then it lists a far amount of directories.

    Thanks,
    James

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    246
    apxs is the program that PHP uses to build its Apache module. It should come with Apache, and in principle it should be located in the same directory as the httpd executable. If it's not there, then it's possible that your Apache binary isn't build with module support -- to check, run 'httpd -l' and look for mod_so in the output. If it isn't there, then you'll have to rebuild Apache.
    Situations arise because of the weather,
    And no kinds of love are better than others.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Had some issues

    Ok because of the issues with apache being installed with linux I decided to uninstall the RPM and reinstall. So im back up and running and had no issues installing apache or php. Now Apache sees my index.php file as flat html. I have tried a few different things but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?

    -James

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Nevermind

    Nevermind I was able to fix the problem. I am, however, having issues with Virtual hosts. I was previously getting a Forbidden 403 error from my document root which i have since fixed. I am not getting a Forbidden 403 error on my virtual hosts. If you could pass any information on about this it would be greatly appreciated.

    -James

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •