Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
what kinds of thigs would i have to do to run a web site off my computer i have apache running samba is not up yet having troubles what else ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    39

    running website


    what kinds of thigs would i have to do to run a web site off my computer i have apache running samba is not up yet having troubles what else do i need to do

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Apache is really the only thing you need to run a web site.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2
    If you need PHP to work along with it then you need to insall PHP also along with apache.

    Regards
    Rajesh

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    39
    what is php and can i get like some help of a turtoril on how to do this like how do i get like a name set up like www.linuxslacker.com so it hits my box and how will it work on my 1.4g 256mb coputer

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Rest assured it will work perfectly on a computer with those specs. I run my website on a 200 MHz PII with 64 MBs of RAM, and it runs more than well.

    PHP is a hypertext preprocessor, similar in function to Microsoft's Active Server Pages (ASP), but very different in architecture (where Microsoft uses COM, PHP uses builtin functions, which lends itself to much greater speed, if possibly slightly worse extensibility).

    To set up a domain name, you have to register it somehow. Unless you ask for domain name hosting (which costs more), you will also have to run a DNS server on that box. A DNS server isn't completely easy to set up, unfortunately. One possible registrar (the one I'm using and am very content with) is http://www.tera-byte.com/.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    To set up a domain name, you have to register it somehow. Unless you ask for domain name hosting (which costs more), you will also have to run a DNS server on that box. A DNS server isn't completely easy to set up, unfortunately. One possible registrar (the one I'm using and am very content with) is http://www.tera-byte.com/.
    And if u have a dynamic ip , you can just take the cheep way out and do a 2nd level domain name with an ip-redirect from like dyndns.org or no-ip.com or others that provide the service for free.....
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Oh yes, that's true - I forgot to mention that. It's _possible_, but very much not recommended to have your very own domain name on a dynamic IP, since it can take up to two days for your new IP address to propagate when it changes. If it changes more often than that, it obviously won't work at all.

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Just apply for a dyndns account and point the FQD to that sub domain works a treat.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •