Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok Im new to linux so if this is easy fix, go easy on me. I am wanting to install slackware, and indeed the whole installation is going fine. EXCEPT ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

LILO is killing me

Ok
    Im new to linux so if this is easy fix, go easy on me.

I am wanting to install slackware, and indeed the whole installation is going fine.
    EXCEPT LILO.
    I do not wish to boot from floppy as i do not have one,and i do not understand the superblock thingy.(though im open for an explanation of how to use it), and using the mbr just gives an error.It says"Sorry but the attempt to install lilo has returned an error, so lilo has not been correctly installed. You have to use a boot disk to start your machine instead."
    The deal is when i used zenwalk, it installs in the mbr fine.
    Any suggetions other than choosing another distro?(i like it complex.)

hda=cdrom(primary master)
    hdb=HDD

hdb1=swap partition
    hdb2=ext2 formatted bootable partition.

have tried it many times, including expert install, but that seems frivilous since im only an expert at windows.

Quote Originally Posted by dARKzEPHYR
    Any suggetions other than choosing another distro?(i like it complex.)
    Well, if you have your mind set on this wonderful distro, you'll find a lot of answers in the SlackBook.

Regarding your own problem
    Here is something similar.

Good luck!
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Just Joined!

Awesome

Thanks for the reply,
    That snippit of info is jsut what i was looking for.
    Tell me, does slackware completly satisfy your need to tinker?

oz
    forum.guy