Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi Yesterday I installed back Track to my HDD. But after that I cannot boot into Fedora. I have fedora 7 and it uses grub to load it. After installing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126

    After Installing BT I cant boot to Fedora... HELP


    Hi
    Yesterday I installed back Track to my HDD. But after that I cannot boot into Fedora. I have fedora 7 and it uses grub to load it. After installing BT I found out that it has installed LILO with it.

    In My HDD I have 2 partitions and a swap partition. I installed Fedora to hda1 and BT to hda 3. Hda 2 is the swap. so, heres my fdisk -l and LILO.conf.

    I need your guys help desperately.....................

    By the way, I started using Linux early this year and I got a lot of support to my problems from this forum, and I really appreciate you guys for what you are doing for the Linux community.

    Cheers!

    ************************************************** ************************
    t ~ # fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 3116 25029238+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 3117 3242 1012095 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda3 3243 4864 13028715 83 Linux

    ************************************************** ***********************

    GNU nano 2.0.3 File: /etc/lilo.conf

    lba32 # Allow booting past 1st cylinder with a recent BIOS
    boot = /dev/hda
    # message = /boot/boot_message.txt
    prompt
    timeout = 20
    bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    reset
    vga = 0x317

    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hda3
    initrd = /boot/splash.initrd
    label = bt
    read-only

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !

    Either add an entry of Fedora in Lilo OR re-install GRUB and add an entry of BT in GRUB.

    So, what do you prefer? GRUB or Lilo?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    Hi devils_Casper,thanks for replying.

    I think Grub is better right? what is your opinion?

    which ever way that is better will do.


  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I prefer GRUB only.
    Boot up from Fedora 7 Installation CD/DVD and select 'repair/rescue mode'. I dont remember exact entry. This will drop you at shell prompt after asking a few questions.
    Execute this
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/hda
    exit
    exit
    * If you have SATA disk, replace hda with sda.
    Reboot machine. GRUB Menu will appear on Startup. Boot up Fedora, log in as root and open /boot/grub/grub.conf file.
    Add this code at the end of file
    Code:
    title BT
        root (hd0,2)
        kernel  /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3  ro
        initrd    /boot/splash.initrd
    Save file and reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    IT WORKED!!!!! U R the man!!!!

    So like this i can triple boot too right? I have to edit only the "(hda0,2)" to "(hd0,3) and "root=/dev/hda3" to its respective partion....is it?

    Thank U VVV Much, I really appriciate it.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Nabaachy
    So like this i can triple boot too right? I have to edit only the "(hda0,2)" to "(hd0,3) and "root=/dev/hda3" to its respective partion....is it?
    Correct. You can setup triple/multi boot exactly same way.

    Glad to help you.


    Edit:

    I prefer chainloading and I would suggest you to use that only.
    Let say, you are installing new distro in /dev/hda4. Add this code in Fedora's grub.conf file
    Code:
    title <new_distro>
        rootnoverify (hd0,3)
        chainloader +1
    Install new distro in /dev/hda4 and select /dev/hda4 as install location of Boot Loader. It will install new distro's boot loader in boot sector of /dev/hda4.
    You wont have to re-install Fedora's GRUB or do anything else. Fedora GRUB will chainload boot loader of new distro.
    Last edited by devils casper; 08-16-2007 at 01:11 PM.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    Thanks Again. Keep up the good work.

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    I don't know why Slack still use Lilo instead of grub and also there is no setup script during the installation of lilo to check and write configuration file for other operating system , i was expecting this will be implemented in the new release !
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Slack gives an option to install Lilo in Boot Sector but I have never chainloaded Lilo from GRUB so I dont know if that will work. 90&#37; distros uses GRUB only and chainloading will work there.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    HI!
    today I re-installed fedora again to the same partition where it was before, after that I added the code below to enable to boot to backtrack. But I guess it was a mistake. I tried installing lilo and again installing grub. but the same error comes up.

    THIS IS THE ERROR I GET

    root (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7 ro root=LABEL=/1 rhgb quiet
    [Linux-bzimage, setup=0x100, size=0x1c9dd4]
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7.img
    [Linux-initrd @ 0x1f511000, 0x2bdf7e bytes]
    root (hda0,2)
    Error 23: Error while parsing number

    Press any key to continue....

    When I press a button, it restarts again


    ************************************************** ***
    This is the code that I added at the end of the grub.conf

    title BT
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 ro
    initrd /boot/splash.initrd
    ************************************************** ***

    Please help me..... where are you devils_casper?? I need uuuu.......

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •