Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 2 of 2
Hello all! I've just recently performed a complete and fresh installation of slackware 12. Up until recently, I was using slackware 11. The slackware installation was running on both a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Slackware 12 wlan (wireless) problems


    Hello all!

    I've just recently performed a complete and fresh installation of slackware 12. Up until recently, I was using slackware 11. The slackware installation was running on both a laptop and desktop PC, both are just plain old normal boring x86 32-bit systems. The wireless device I am using is a USB Netgear MA111. I connect to the internet via a server, which in turn is connected to a wireless router.

    Under slackware 11, I could use the following script successfully to connect to the internet;


    #!/bin/bash

    modprobe prism2_usb prism2_doreset=1

    wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_hostwep decrypt=true encrypt=true
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=0
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=true
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11PrivacyInvoked=true
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey0="XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:X X:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX"
    wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin "ssid=home" authtype="opensystem"

    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.162 up
    route add default gw 192.168.0.10


    Under slackware 11, this works fine. Under slackware 12, it dosen't seem to work. If I try to ping - say - google.com I get absolutely nothing in return; under slackware 11 it would work fine. I know the internet is working as I am using another PC with slackware 11 on it, and the internet's working just fine (I'm doing it at the same time, . and with another netgear MA111 too (swapping them over didn't work at all) and with the same script, /etc/resolv.conf, etc).

    Here's some more infos;

    iwconfig;

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11-b ESSID:"home" Nickname:"home"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:18:39:28:696
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm
    Retry limit:8 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key:XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XX Security mode:restricted
    Link Quality=52/100 Signal level=-68 dBm Noise level=-89 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    ifconfig

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:712 (712.0 b) TX bytes:712 (712.0 b)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:09:5B:B2:E4:22
    inet addr:192.168.0.162 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::209:5bff:feb2:e422/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:304 (304.0 b) TX bytes:1296 (1.2 KiB)


    Last few lines of "dmesg";

    ieee1394: exports duplicate symbol _csr1212_destroy_keyval (owned by kernel)
    ohci1394: exports duplicate symbol ohci1394_unregister_iso_tasklet (owned by kernel)
    NET: Registered protocol family 10
    lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
    hub 1-0:1.0: over-current change on port 2
    usb 2-3: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 2
    usb 2-3: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    prism2usb_init: prism2_usb.o: 0.2.8 Loaded
    prism2usb_init: dev_info is: prism2_usb
    usbcore: registered new interface driver prism2_usb
    ident: nic h/w: id=0x8026 1.0.0
    ident: pri f/w: id=0x15 1.1.4
    ident: sta f/w: id=0x1f 1.7.0
    MFI:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x01:var=0x01:b/t=1/1
    CFI:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x02:var=0x02:b/t=1/1
    PRI:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x03:var=0x01:b/t=1/4
    STA:SUP:role=0x00:id=0x04:var=0x01:b/t=1/12
    PRI-CFI:ACT:role=0x01:id=0x02:var=0x02:b/t=1/1
    STA-CFI:ACT:role=0x01:id=0x02:var=0x02:b/t=1/1
    STA-MFI:ACT:role=0x01:id=0x01:var=0x01:b/t=1/1
    Prism2 card SN: \x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00
    ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    linkstatus=CONNECTED
    ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
    wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
    linkstatus=DISCONNECTED (unhandled)
    linkstatus=CONNECTED


    route (takes several seconds to complete; hangs at the last line for several seconds but then returns);


    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 wlan0
    loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    default 192.168.0.10 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0


    If I were to do all of this under slackware 11, I'd have no problems; I could type "ping google.com" and get a response. I get no response whatsoever using slackware 12. Ping cannot "see" the internet.

    Sometimes if I turned everything off - the router & the server, left it for a while and switched it back on I could get it to work under SW12. But it seemed to be extremely hit-and-miss. Using another PC at the same time with a Netgear MA111 and running SW11 had no problems at all.

    Even more bizarre though is that sometimes - once in a blue moon - it will connect and I can ping (say) google.com . But if I remove the MA111 device, waited a moment and plugged it back in chances are it would fail again. It all seems to be *extremely* flaky. (SW11 never was!).

    After googling I've been unable to find any answer to this, but I have been hearing that some are saying that SW12 seems to be quite buggy.

    Can anyone think what's going on -- is there some big change 'tween Slackware 11 & 12 ?

    ljones

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2
    Unfortunatly, I've not been able to fix this problem. In the end, I had to use ndiswrapper.

    ljones

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •