Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am new to these forums but I have had some experience with linux in the past from dual boot systems. I guess i should start with my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ok, long story but here goes.

Hello all,

I am new to these forums but I have had some experience with linux in the past from dual boot systems.

I guess i should start with my specs.
    Hard drives: 1X maxtor 300 GB sata, 2X samsung 500 GB sata.
    DVD rw drive
    AMD 64 processor
    ASUS motherboard
    Floppy drive that i would rather not use (It has a piece of metal lodged in it that will be vey hard to get out.)

ok now I will start at the beginning, I started with my 300 GB hard drive with windows xp installed. I then decided to upgrade my hard drive by 1TB (2X500GB) but when i tried to install the new hard drives windows reinstalled itself and I lost the cd key for activation. I get on the phone to micrsoft and to make this part of the long story short they managed to make an enemy for life out of me. Now I am changing to linux and never looking back.

So I download the slackware dvd from the slackware site and begin to install. At this point only one of my new hard drives is showing up with my old hard drive, but I decided to come back to that later (big mistake). So I installed slackware onto my new hard drive and lilo to my mbr (master boot record) and everything works great.

At this point I have my windows hard drive as sda1, with all my files on it, and my linux hard drive as sdb1. Then out of nowhere my computer decides to register my second new hard drive and labels it as sda1, which makes my windows drive sdb1 and my linux drive sdc1. At this point slackware freaks out as it is trying to run linux from an NTFS hard drive. I reboot and get numerous error messages from linux and can't boot up.